Home News IITA emerges winner of Africa Food Prize Award 2018
IITA emerges winner of Africa Food Prize Award 2018

IITA emerges winner of Africa Food Prize Award 2018


The International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) has emerged the winner of the 2018 Africa Food Prize Award.

The independent Africa Food Prize Committee, chaired by the former president of Nigeria Olusegun Obasanjo, distinguished IITA for its commitment over decades to producing a stable flow of innovations that have increased the nutrition and incomes of millions across Africa.
According to Chief Obasanjo, “IITA stood out to us for its steadfast and inspiring commitment to a research agenda that aligns with both our African traditions as well as the evolving needs of African farmers and consumers for the latest advances food production.”

After receiving the award on behalf of the institute at the just concluded African Green Revolution Forum (AGRF) in Kigali, Rwanda, IITA’s Director General, Dr. Nteranya Sanginga, said he believed that a great deal of IITA’s success relied on its capacity to develop relationships and collaborations that allows its research to be placed above and made available to millions of farmers.

He further stated that IITA scientists had developed hundreds of new, improved and high-yielding varieties of major African dietary staple crops which he attributed to the relentless efforts from various partners, research centres, government and private sector.

“But it would be remiss of me if I didn’t acknowledge the important role of our various partners, from other research centers to governments to the private sector, without whom our research might never have seen the light of day” Sanginga said.

The Africa Food Prize Award is worth a 100,000 dollars, and the institute is the first institution to receive the award.





  1. Pingback: Dank Vapes flavors
  2. Pingback: cvv dumps shop
  3. Pingback: 중계사이트
  4. Pingback: cbd for anxiety


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 + ten =

StartUpper of the Year Challenge

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
Language Options »